Answer: You will want to check with your attorney to make sure that you are receiving pretrial diversion and are not receiving deferred adjudication probation. If successful on a pretrial diversion, you are eligible to have the charges fully expunged (documents fully destroyed) from your record and can deny ever having been arrested, the only limited exception being that the DA that put you on pretrial diversion will keep a record that you were given PTD so that you can't go back and get it again in the future. Deferred adjudication is different in that you are not eligible for an expunction, and in that you plead guilty or no contest before a judge at the beginning of the probation. If successful on deferred adjudication you will receive no conviction, however the arrest and probation will be on your record until and if you are able to get a petition for nondisclosure signed (different from an expunction and does not actually result in destruction of records).
Part of the confusion may be that pretrial diversion programs are often administered through the probation department, but they will not involve a plea before a judge. Check with your lawyer to confirm which program it is, but in either event, you would not be "convicted of a felony," and could truthfully so answer on a job application.
Answer: In Texas, there is what is called The One Witness Rule, meaning that a criminal conviction can be sustained based on the testimony of one witness alone. I think there is this widespread confusion in the general populace about what constitutes evidence in a trial, that it must be something physical or tangible, but in reality, the vast majority (99+%) of all evidence is testimony from the witness stand, and hence, yes, the statements of the people who wrote them will be used to prove up probable cause for your arrest and, assuming they come to testify at your trial, will constitute evidence against you.
There is one caveat to this, and it is that if they are co-defendants of yours and not victims or independent witnesses that their statements may not be able to be used against you. Texas Code of Criminal Procedure § 38.14 states that "[a] conviction cannot be had upon the testimony of an accomplice unless corroborated by other evidence tending to connect the defendant with the offense committed; and the corroboration is not sufficient if it merely shows the commission of the offense." This means that if they were allegedly accomplices or yours they would have to provide more detail than just the crime itself having been committed in order for their testimony to be admitted as proof against you.
Answer: Many people assume that paying tickets will be the fastest way to "clear them up," but when you go in without an attorney and merely pay the tickets, the almost guaranteed outcome is that you are pleading to convictions, and in Texas tickets are considered criminal offenses, and hence you're putting convictions on your record for life. In addition to this, unless you receive a deferred disposition when you pay off your tickets, you run the risk of incurring enough points to trigger a new suspension, that will come with surcharges, which if unpaid in years to come will be associated with new DL suspensions. Furthermore, at that point if caught driving on an invalid or suspended DL, you could be subject to arrest for a Class B DWLI offense, which can carry with it up to a $2000 and up to 180 days in jail.
If all this sounds bad, there is at least some good news, and that is that because Texas makes tickets criminal offenses, you are entitled to certain Constitutional rights which can be used as leverage by a good attorney to work out a set of favorable deals for you. I say a set because it is likely that these tickets are in different jurisdictions and set in different courts with different prosecutors and different judges and each one will require their own package deal to resolve. An attorney who works with those prosecutors locally will have the relationships necessary to have the credibility to explain your situation and humanize you rather than the prosecutor just looking at you as a blank check. This will help mitigate the amount you have to pay, but the other salient concern is fully extricating you from the situation without triggering new suspensions and surcharges that would keep you mired in the suspension cycle for years to come. It won't necessarily be as cheap as you'd like it to be in hiring an attorney, but neglecting the situation and not hiring an attorney will definitely be more expensive in the long run. Additionally, in hiring an attorney you will likely not be required to be present to resolve the charges.
Answer: The process to get a charge removed from your criminal history is called an expunction (or expungement), and there are some preliminary eligibility requirements. In order for a case to be expunged it needs to have been dismissed (not deferred adjudication) or the defendant must have been found not guilty at a trial, and the defendant must have received no convictions and no probation higher than a Class C deferred disposition out of that incident. In the event of an acquittal or if the defendant successfully completed a pretrial diversion program, the eligibility for the expunction is immediate, and in the event of a not guilty verdict, the filing fees are waived if it is pursued within 30 days of the verdict. If not the result of one of the above outcomes, and based upon a dismissal, the defendant must wait the statute of limitations, and add any time that the case was pending and filed (after the prosecutor filed a complaint or the grand jury returned an indictment in the event of a felony), in order to be eligible. It sounds like you're in this last boat, and it would depend on the amount of time since the case was dismissed and whether or not it was indicted, but in all likelihood the statute of limitations is 3 years.
Assuming all these requirements have been met, the defendant must file a petition with the district (felony) court requesting an expunction, and allow time before the setting for DPS and the local prosecutor to object or not object to the petition. The information in the petition must be signed and verified, and must contain a list of all the agencies that had any contact with the information pertaining to the arrest, as it is their records that you are intending to scrub. The filing fees for the expunction will vary, but are generally based upon the number of agencies that need to be notified. It is necessary that you, or the attorney you hire (recommended) do a thorough investigation so that no agencies are missed, because you really only get on bite at the apple here. If the attorney is doing a good job, because most background checks are done through third party websites that purchase criminal history data from DPS and maintain their own databases, the attorney must include in their order of expunction that the clerk notify all those private entities as well, and when I do one, I include a list of those companies, a list which is 8 pages long. Once the expunction is signed, the agencies have 60 days to comply, but generally it takes 6 months, and they have to either provide the records or a certification that they have been destroyed. The attorney should do a follow-up check with the clerk on this timeline to confirm that the records have been destroyed. The legal effect of an expunction is that the arrested person can deny the arrest, and can deny the existence of an expunction order, except when testifying in a criminal proceeding. There is one big caveat to this, however, and it is that if you are ever asked on a federal application you should consult with an attorney before choosing to deny outright the arrest, as usually it's best to mention it and say it was expunged so as to not potentially run afoul of 18 USC 1001. This is especially true in an immigration context, as this may become a basis for denial of your application due to a false statement, despite the Texas Code Crim. Pro Chapter 55 stating that you can deny the arrest.
This whole process is not something you should try on your own and you should hire an attorney in the county you were charged who is knowledgeable on expunctions and who will follow all the above-listed steps, because as I mentioned earlier, you only get one attempt to get it right.
Answer: Reading between the lines here I believe that they are charging you based on a combination of Texas Penal Code § 12.42(d) and § 12.425. §12.42(d) states that a defendant charged with a felony offense other than a state jail offense punishable under § 12.35(a) who has previously been convicted twice of a felony offense other than a state jail offense punishable under § 12.35(a) shall be punished by a term of confinement of 25-99 years or life. The two felony (3rd degree or higher) offenses that make the current charge enhanced to habitual offender must be from separate convictions, i.e. not out of the same incident, and generally two separate TDC trips. Furthermore, the specificity regarding state jail offenses that are punishable under § 12.35(a) is important and does not cover all state jail felonies.
To see how the prosecutors have gotten to the 25 TDC number we must look at § 12.425 (a) and (b). From subsection (b) we can see that an individual charged with a state jail felony who has previously been twice convicted just as above for non-state jail felonies, their punishment is enhanced to a 2nd degree felony, but 2nd degree felonies are punishable with 2-20 years TDC, and so this is not the section they are applying to get to the 25 TDC offer. They also cannot use the enhancing offenses twice, first to enhance it to a 2nd degree, and then say based on the prior two trips that that 2nd degree is to be punished habitually.
This brings us to § 12.425 (a), which allows for a state jail felony to be punished as a third degree when the defendant has been prior twice convicted, in a similar fashion as above of two state jail felonies. This is important because reading back into the language of § 12.42(d) above, this type of state jail felony is not punishable under § 12.35 (a) and hence is covered as enhanceable to habitual status.
TLDR; a defendant charged with a state jail felony who has two prior state jail trips and two prior TDC trips may be charged as a habitual offender with a punishment of 25-99 or life, and hence their offer is the minimum if all of these enhancements are being applied. You need a very good lawyer.